Kimmswick is a town full of history and charm. Explore our historic buildings, museums, and landmarks that tell the story of our town’s past. Also, enjoy our scenic views of the Mississippi River and the surrounding nature.
Phone: (636) 464-6464
Location: 6000 Windsor Harbor Ln.
The historic Anheuser Estate in Kimmswick is open for a tour. The estate home and museum are available for walk-in tours once a week, every Thursday from noon to 4:00 PM. To arrange a group tour on any day of the week, call the City Hall at (636) 464-7407. The admission fee is $10 per person. The money goes to the Anheuser trust fund to maintain the property.
The Anheuser Museum and Estate are now one of Jefferson County’s newest, premier wedding venues! The property boasts a beautiful gazebo and observation deck overlooking the Mississippi River providing a wonderful photo opportunity for your Special Event. Contact Tammy at Kimmswick City Hall (636-464-7407) for details and reservations.
Before her death in October 2000, Mabel-Ruth Anheuser bequeathed the home and grounds to Kimmswick. In addition, she donated $1.5 million to the city for the estate’s upkeep.
The estate includes many of the Anheusers’ belongings, including furniture, dinnerware, clothing, and the family’s book collection. A portion of the property is also designated as a park.
There are also stables and a riding area on about 6 acres of the Anheuser property, which Ride On St. Louis uses. The organization houses four horses at the facility. Find out more about Ride On St. Louis below. Like us on Facebook at Anheuser Museum and Estate.
Apple Butter Pavilion
Built in 1982, the Apple Butter Pavilion is home to the annual Apple Butter Festival. Historical members and friends stir the apple butter and then jar it when ready. The Festival is held the last weekend in October.
Historic Post Office
In continuous operation in the City of Kimmswick since 1858. They were donated to the City by Lucianna Gladney Ross in December 2010.
El Camino Real Marker
Location: Jefferson Square Park, Kimmswick, MO
The Spanish followed the inland paths of the Native Americans in the late 1700s. They named the route from New Madrid and Ste. Genevieve to St. Louis as El Camino Real (The Royal Road.) This oldest road in Missouri passed near what would become Kimmswick. The Missouri Daughters of the American Revolution erected a red granite boulder in 1917 to mark the route. On Sunday, October 19th, 2008, a ceremony was held to commemorate the move of the El Camino Real Marker to the Jefferson Square Park location.
Burgess-How House & Museum
Location: 3rd & Elm St.
The Kimmswick Historical Society moved this log building to Kimmswick in 1970. It is the oldest log building in Kimmswick. They decorated and preserved it as a farmhouse from the 1850s. It is open on Sundays from April to October, from 1 pm to 4 pm.
Kimmswick Hall & Museum
Location: 600 3rd St.
Once the Kimmswick Baptist Church, this building is now the headquarters for the Kimmswick Historical Society; meetings are held on the first Monday of each month at 7 pm. Everyone is welcome. It is free and open from 1 pm – 4 pm most weekends.
Windsor Harbor Road Bridge
Location: The intersection of Mill St. and Front St.
The oldest known wrought iron bridge in Missouri spans Rock Creek. Built in 1874, the Keystone Bridge Company constructed this bridge to be placed across the River Des Peres at Ivory Avenue. It remained there until 1928 when a new bridge replaced it. In 1930, the bridge was relocated to Kimmswick, and only pedestrians were allowed to use the bridge.
Mastodon State Historic Site
Scientists made a historic discovery at the site in 1979 when they found a stone spear point made by Clovis hunters (around 10,000–14,000 years old) with mastodon bones. It was the first clear evidence that people and these huge ancient animals lived at the same time.
Mastodon State Historic Site contains an important archaeological and paleontological site: the Kimmswick Bone Bed. Bones of mastodons and other now-extinct animals were first found here in the early 1800s. The area gained fame as one of the country’s most extensive Pleistocene ice age deposits.
Today, the 425-acre property preserves this National Register of Historic Places site and provides recreational opportunities. A museum tells the natural and cultural story of the oldest American Indian place to visit in the state’s park system. A full-size replica of a mastodon skeleton highlights the exhibits. A picnic area, several trails, and a special-use campground offer chances to explore the land where the lives of Native Americans and mastodons once intertwined.
Port of Kimmswick
Serving as a vital trade hub in the 19th century, the Port of Kimmswick played a crucial role in facilitating the transportation of goods along the Mississippi River. Today, visitors can stroll along the picturesque riverfront, taking in the serene views and learning about the town’s maritime legacy. Don’t miss the opportunity to explore this unique piece of Kimmswick’s past during your visit!
Share your Kimmswick Experience with Us
"*" indicates required fields